Are you sitting on your computer prowling through Indeed and Monster like a hungry lion?

A hungry lion kind of sounds like a weird analogy, but if you are really needing that next paycheck then you might find yourself as angry, anxious, and aggressive as a hungry lion.

I recently graduated with my degree in Communications and while I do have a great thing going with freelancing, I am considering hitting the job market soon. I love what I do, but I want to better utilize the degree I paid so much for.

And, ultimately, I will really need the in-office experience to go any further in my career.

So, my search for “the perfect job” has begun. Right now, I am just leisurely browsing and only applying to ones I feel are just too good to pass up.

But, whether you are avidly looking or just glancing at the market’s availability once a week, here are a few key tips to make your job search a little smoother:

  1. Smack your potential employer in the face.Not literally – please. That would definitely get you fired before you were even hired.Smack them in the face with your resume. Forget the basic, “I know how to use Microsoft” blah, blah, blah. Studies show that most employers only spend 6 seconds looking at your resume. Start with a career summary that will make them feel like you literally just smacked them with your greatness.
  2. Indeed is not your only friend. Indeed is a great resource – don’t get me wrong. And, I’m not even getting paid to say that. I have found most of my jobs on there. But, did you know you can even find jobs on sources such as LinkedIn?If you are really enthusiastic about finding the perfect fit you for you, make sure you explore all your options.
  3. Don’t send them back to the 80’s with your resume.While you might be well past your 20s and still glowing with joy from the team lead position you held at Burger King in high school – you know, in the 80’s -, chances are your future boss does not care about that anymore…I hate to break it to you, but stop living in the past. Only list previous work history that is relevant to the job you are applying for and/or is incredibly recent. Like within the past year or two.Trust me, they don’t want your life’s story. Boringgggggg. (Can you just hear me dragging that out in my head?)
  4. Vet your prospects. And, no. Don’t take them with you to your dog’s check-up. It is no secret that potential employers vet you…They ask for references they can call, they ask you trick questions to see if you will slip up…So, why not do the same to them?

    Make sure you ask the appropriate questions about pay, time off and other benefits so you aren’t stuck accepting a job only to find out two weeks later that you hate it.

Leave a Reply

