Patience – something that everyone swears us millennials just don’t possess. True? Eh, maybe. That is a matter of opinion and I am not one to speak for my entire generation. 

But, I will speak for myself. I am not patient in most aspects of life – but, I don’t always notice it until I let my impatience bring in my short-tempered, irritable personality. Then I feel guilty. Then I realize how impatient I truly can be. 

I saw this quote on Pinterest this morning, and boy did it just punch me in the gut. I am one who is always wishing for the next step – wishing to be older, wishing to graduate, wishing to move out, wishing to get married, etc. And before I knew it, I had wished myself right through all of that. Basically overnight it seems like. 

{Photo source: Her New Tribe}

While I might have wished it away though, I love, love, love where I am at in life right now, in fact, my 22nd birthday is coming up and I am telling everyone that I won’t be having one because I have decided to stay 21 forever. I’m actually content right now, I am not wishing for the next step (maybe because the next step would be kids and I’m not ready?). 

But, as I grow older, I have am really learning to appreciate what is right in front of me. I have been in California for almost a year now, and I actually find myself missing Arkansas and our old tiny, so outdated, and cheap apartment. Now, while I love where we are now, it just makes me look back and see that I had so much to be thankful for then but I was always wishing it away. 

My dad used to sing this country song to me…”You’re gonna miss this, you’re gonna want this back, you’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast. These are some good times, so take a good look around. You may not know it now, but you’re gonna miss this…”

While at the time, it annoyed me so bad that “my dad just couldn’t see my point of view, and that he thought I should slow down” {that is 16-year old me talking}, I have finally reached an age and a point in my life where I will forever be grateful to him for constantly reminding me to slow down. In fact, that will go down in my book as one of the most valuable things that man has ever taught me and I will forever cherish that life lesson. I will instill this in my kids because we are always in a hurry, but we should always take a breather.

Now, I laugh at myself as I have finally reached an age where this song brings me to tears. But I am so grateful that I feel this way at only 21. While I might have wished away high school, and graduating college and “the next step,” I still have so much more time. So much more to live for and to look forward to. 

So, today, I am promising myself that I will be patient. I will not long for what will come next – a house, a baby, a new job. I will not long for when the next step will come – tomorrow, next week, in ten years. I will be more patient with myself, my life, my husband {he deserves it – he is so patient with me, and I don’t know how he puts up with my crazy self}

So, my self-help tip for the day is: be patient, be kind and appreciate and love where you are at this very moment. There will be day where you realize you wished something, or many things away, no matter how big or small it was, you wished it away and you don’t know what you might have missed. Be happy with where you are and find the joy in this stage of your life. You will always be wanting more {hopefully} because I think you should always be looking for new things, ways to improve and way to grow. But, learn to appreciate every single day and every single second in that day. 

XoXo♥

Leave a Reply

