Local tourist? Huh? Isn’t that an oxymoron? Yes, yes it is.

But, that is the best way to describe me. I am a local to the area, but I am a newer local and prior to moving out here, I had never even visited California! So, while I might technically be a local, because this is my primary residence and place of work – I am still a tourist. 

I still use google maps to get to most places, unless it is one of the few places that I go frequently. I still couldn’t tell you where anything is, so when people ask for directions I just say “I have no idea.” I am still figuring this place out and finding new things.

So, yes, I do live here. But I act more like a tourist. This place is still new to me, and there are still plenty of exciting things for me to do! I still enjoy doing more tourist-like things, that a true local {someone who was born and raised here} would not find interesting. 

So far, I think I have found some pretty incredible things to do here, though! Some seem to be a bit more on the tourist side, but some are pretty well-known local attractions.

Check out the must-see list! 

Take a trip to the Donut BarThis is a place you won’t want to miss! Chef Santiago is always whipping up a new, tasty and fun creation! This isn’t just a donut shop – this place is very well-known and has received plenty of awards. {You might have actually seen them on an episode of Tanked, for their new Las Vegas store.} And, for all you craft beer lovers (me!), they do Beer and Donuts on Friday and Saturday nights! You can go in, choose from their wide selection of gourmet donuts and grab a tall glass of one of their many craft beers. I’m telling you – you don’t want to miss this if you’re in town! From french toast donuts to the infamous Homer Simpson donut, there is something for everyone! 

Go visit the seals at La Jolla CoveAt La Jolla Cove Children’s Pool, there is a little beach area where the seals have made their home. For a few months out of the year, they will be in their pupping season and have their babies there. For the rest of the year, they just hang out – taking naps on the beach and playing in the water. While it might be crowded the majority of the time, it is a free attraction! This is just a great area that our city has preserved and we have the joy of going to see it. 

Visit the famous attraction, THE San Diego ZooThis place is just phenomenal! They have such a diverse range of species. The zoo is incredibly large, featuring just about any animal that you can think of! I would have to say that one of my favorite exhibits is the polar bears. They are massive! The exhibit features a huge pool for them that is enclosed with glass, so it allows you to sit back and watch them while they swim underwater. 

Eat at Cafe 21If you’re a brunch person, then I have just the place for you! With a wide variety of sweet or savory dishes, gourmet coffees, mimosa flights and numerous house-made sangrias – you can’t go wrong with this place! Just be prepared to wait a little bit most weekends, this place is usually popping! 

Go to the beachThis is an obvious choice, you are on the west coast, so the beach is probably already on your to-do list. But, explore your options! Try to see more than one beach if you can. We have SO many choices – there is a beach just about everywhere you turn. Some are colder, some more rocky – it just depends on the area and which one you pick. This particular picture is part of La Jolla Cove (further down from where the seals are), but one of my favorites that I would recommend is Coronado! But, beware because Coronado is not technically San Diego anymore, it is in Coronado, although it is just across the bridge.

Check out what is going on at the American Comedy CoIf you’re a sucker for late night tv or a good stand-up, this is your place. They always have shows going on and sometimes it is someone who is actually pretty famous! It is a small area, so they only seat about 50ish people at each show, making for a much more intimate experience. The only downside is that you are required to purchase two drinks per person during the show – but, everything is about as reasonably priced as it will get in California and it doesn’t have to be an alcoholic drink. 

Leave a Reply

