Just me & my uncomfortable chair & Monday mumbo jumbo. 

So first, I have no idea what mumbo jumbo actually even means. It’s just one of those odd sayings I always heard growing up, so it works.

Second, it’s Monday morning and here I am sitting in the jury duty lounge, in this terribly uncomfortable chair. I have lived in this city not even a full year, and just updated my ID and registered to vote here four months ago – but, they summoned me so soon.

In an odd way, I’m kind of enjoying it. I’m not enjoying this terribly uncomfortable chair. But I’m enjoying the anticipation to see if I get called to a courtroom. {Fingers crossed that I do because I want to for some odd reason}

Anywho, one thing I am also enjoying while I sit here is the chance to people watch and to just pause and ponder on the diversity around me. There is quite a bit more than meets the eye.

There’s the obvious differences: males and females, young and old, different races and ethnicities. But then, we have the not so obvious…what are these people thinking? What are they missing to be here today?

Sitting in a room full of so many different people just always makes me wonder a little bit. What is the person right next to me thinking? Are they enjoying themselves or are they worried about what they should be doing?
Just some fun facts to consider when thinking about diversity:

  • As of 2017, the world’s population is 7,515,284,153. WOAH.
  • As of 2017, the United States’ population is 326,474013.
  • In the United States, 3,042,592 are two or more races, 1,243,471 are black, 685,150 are American Indian and Alaskan Native and 209,128 are Asian.

Those are some pretty incredible statistics. The point is, there are a lot of people on this earth. We are all unique, we are all different.

When you’re sitting in the face of diversity, just take a moment to pause and ponder. Consider your fellow man and the unique, different human that they are. Consider: what are they thinking? Who are they missing? How are they feeling?

This post kind of just went into nowhere, but the bottom line is just to always be considerate. You are just as different to someone else as the person sitting next to you is to you.

Love you fellow man.

Leave a Reply

