My dream reminded me that I am a quitter.

Quitter. Quitter. Quitter. Ouch. That is a painful noun. “A person who gives up easily or does not have the courage or determination to finish a task” is the definition that Google pulls up when you search that word. Whether it is the noun someone you know uses to describe your or the noun that you have chosen for yourself, it is a hard pill to swallow.

Personally, I never consider myself a quitter. I work hard, both in my careers and academically. I am almost always willing to do whatever it takes to push through and get the task completed. But, we all have that one weakness. That one moment in which we are that noun that we would never use to describe ourself otherwise. For me, it is healthy eating and exercise. After a day or two of persistence, I am burnt out and ready to quit.

And sadly, this is the point where I usually do.

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I recently started a 28-day trim-up plan. No joke, at the end of day one, I had a dream about cheating. In my dream, I ate a big breakfast but then still continued to eat a snack later, all of which was unhealthy.

When I woke up, I felt guilty as though it had actually happened, but quickly realized it was only a dream (thank goodness!).

So, I should be happy, right? It was just a dream. I didn’t actually fall off the horse.

Wrong. 

Yes, it was just a dream, but to me that showed that subconsciously, I am always thinking about giving up and I do consider myself a quitter in this area of my life.

So, today, I am using this as my power to keep on! It is always the hardest the first week, and even harder when my mind is telling me (even in my dreams!) “you know you want to give up…” My mind will tell me I can’t, but I say that I can!

Here’s to another SUCCESSFUL day of eating clean!

One thought on “My dream reminded me that I am a quitter.

Leave a Reply

